Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

mSGDMA signal undeclared

MichaelV
Beginner

Hello,

I'm a newbie to Platform Designer and NIOS2 and I am trying to add ethernet using the Triple Speed Ethernet IP and mSGDMA with the iNicheStack.

Using platform Designer generation of HDL is successful and add the iNicheStack using tcl-script.

The whole build process is started using make-files including the generation of the NIOS BSP files.

Unfortunately when software is compiled I get the following errors:

alt_sys_init.c:135:37: error: 'msgdma_rx' undeclared (first use in this function)

ALTERA_MSGDMA_INIT ( MSGDMA_RX, msgdma_rx);

alt_sys_init.c:136:37: error: 'msgdma_tx' undeclared (first use in this function)

ALTERA_MSGDMA_INIT ( MSGDMA_TX, msgdma_tx);

In another post (NIOS2-mSGDMA-Ethernet-example ) I read it might be related to the BSP settings. 

Any help or thoughts would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
MichaelV
Beginner

Additional information from log:

MichaelV_1-1610379130733.png

0 Kudos
MichaelV
Beginner

Hello,

I think it has something to do with missing definition for ALTERA_MSGDMA_INSTANCE in altera_msgdma.h. 

What can I change to get tools to generate files containing definition.

0 Kudos
SyafieqS

Hi Michael,

For hardware design what if you try to recompile from scratch? (clean project), and for software rebuild and recompile as well. Let me know if issue still persist.

0 Kudos
MichaelV
Beginner

Hello,

Thank you for your time but recompiling and building does not resolve the issue. 

Since I was converting an SGDMA-implementation to using mSGDMA I did not connect all signals  (interface is a bit different)

I finally resolved the issue by connecting an unconnected signal in Platform Designer.

Apparently some signals have to be connected, while some can remain unconnected.