Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

newbie to uClinux, having install problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello,  

This is my first attempt with installing uClinux1.3. I am using Quartus 4.1 SP2 and nios II 1.01 currently. I am trying to run this on a stratix2s60 altera dev kit. When installing the uClinux1.3 it says it had some problem installing the cygwin extension and that i need to read some readme file to manually install it. I cannot find this readme file that talks about this yet. When I try to execute the install_cyg_ext.sh located in the supplemental directory of the uClinux install folders, it says it cannot find the install_setting.cache file. Since the cyg_extensions were not installed correctly, I was not able to follow the tutorials to getting a kernel configured nor compiled. How can I get the install to completely finish the install process? 

thanx, 

-Quan
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, the readme file can be accessed through the Start -> Programs -> Microtronix -> Nios II Linux Distribution -> Documentation. 

Sorry for the late reply, we've been in the middle of a move and I'm just now starting to catch up with the Nios Forum... are you still experiencing difficulty? If you are still having problems with the cygwin extensions, pass me the following information and I can tell you how to manually install it. 

(1) Location of the Altera Nios II Distribution (defaults to c:\altera\kits\nios2) 

(2) Location of Quartus II (defaults to c:\altera\quartus42) 

(3) value of QUARTUS_ROOTDIR environment variable 

I think that's all I'll need to help you out.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Ken,