Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

nios address problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi everyone! 

i am new to altra and nios II, recently i am trying to study altra fpga and nios II, i meet one serious problem and i need some help 

i add 3 my ip in the Qsys, seg7(to drive the LED Segment Displays), my_adc(to drive the ADC),my_dac(to drive the DAC) 

i build a project to test my_adc and my_dac in nios II.(the .v files work correct, i have tested them in quartus) 

this is my code: 

# include "alt_types.h"# include "altera_avalon_pio_regs.h"# include "sys/alt_irq.h"# include "system.h"# include <stdio.h># include <unistd.h> 

void delay(alt_u32 cnt); 

//&#20027;&#20989;&#25968; 

int main() 

alt_u16 ad_dis; 

alt_u8 cnt = 0; 

while(1) 

IOWR_8DIRECT(MY_DAC_BASE,0,cnt); 

printf("Write Analog Value = %d,",cnt); 

delay(60000); //&#24310;&#26102; 

ad_dis = IORD_8DIRECT(MY_ADC_BASE,0); // 

printf("Read Analog Value = %d\n",ad_dis); 

cnt++; 

return 0; 

//&#24310;&#26102;&#20989;&#25968;&#65288;&#24310;&#26102;&#26102;&#38388;&#20026;(2+2*i)us&#65289; 

void delay(alt_u32 cnt) 

alt_u32 i =0; 

while(i < cnt) 

i++; 

then i download the sof and elf file to the pcb, then the LED Segment start shining!  

then i check the address map 

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9349  

and i found that the address of the seg7 is 0x11050~0x11051 

the address of the my_adc is 0x11053~0x11053 

the address of the my_dac is 0x11052~0x11052 

so the reason of the LED Segment shining maybe i write to my_dac (0x11052) but the nios II write to seg7 (0x11050~0x11051) 

why this happen?
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Are you sure the BSP is updated with the correct addresses? Check system.h for MY_DAC_BASE
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum