Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

nios ii console shows nothing

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to nios ii and find some strange things when running just hello_world or memory_test examples programs... 

First it works fine with these simple programs, but when I do synthesis again and run again, nothing appears in the Nios II console. 

The downloading and verifying are good as below: 

Using cable "USB-Blaster [USB-0]", device 1, instance 0x00 

Processor is already paused 

Initializing CPU cache (if present) 

OK 

Downloading 00080020 ( 0%) 

Downloading 01000000 ( 0%) 

Downloading 01010000 (60%) 

Downloaded 107KB in 1.8s (59.4KB/s) 

Verifying 00080020 ( 0%) 

Verifying 01000000 ( 0%) 

Verifying 01010000 (60%) 

Verified OK  

Starting processor at address 0x01000000 

However after showing this the Nios II console is just blank. 

I also tried program the .soc file again or do synthesis again or build the SOPC system again, but it still doesn't work... 

I am sure the pin assignments are ok and it works before. 

Any one can tell me the reason? 

Many thanks.
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Maybe your JTAG_BASE_ADRESS changed?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Check if jtag_uart is selected as stdin/stdout/stderr device for terminal communication in Run/Debug properties. 

Also make sure your program is actually running: if you have a spare LED on your board, toggle it in the very beginning of your program.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

aprado thank you for your reply 

but i didn't change JTAG_BASE_ADRESS in software... and I used a same sopc info file
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Cris, 

thank you for your answer, but can you tell me how to check the jtag_uart config?