Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

nios2-flash-programmer error code 1

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys. I am new to FPGA world and seems like I am having some difficulties with the flash programmer that I cannot understand. Its giving me an error code 1 which I am unable to find a reference to.  

Purpose of the implementation: test out different functionality of the DE2-115 board. The FPGA part of the program includes SW, KEY, LED, and lcd, all of which is connected to the nios system generated from Qsys 

Qsys: includes clk, cpu, onchip memory, jtag uart, sysid, epcs flash controller and a bunch of PIOs. 

Here is what I did: 

1. set cpu reset vector to epcs. 

2. export externals of epcs flash controllers. it gives me the following input/outputs: 

epcs_flash_controller_external_dclk => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_dclk, -- epcs_flash_controller_external.dclk epcs_flash_controller_external_sce => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_sce, -- .sce epcs_flash_controller_external_sdo => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_sdo, -- .sdo epcs_flash_controller_external_data0 => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_data0 --  

3. apply terisic patch. as suggested in their manuals to include nios-2-flash-override 

# EPCS64N(lead-free)sector_size = 65536 sector_count = 128 # EPCS128N(lead-free) sector_size = 262144 sector_count = 64 

3. import some predefined pin assignments given by terasic. 

4. On the Dual-purpose pins page (Assignments > Devices > Device and Pin Options), thefollowing pins are assigned to "Use as regular I/O": Data[0], Data[1], DCLK = Use as regular I/O, FLASH_nCE/nCS0 

5. perform port map