Nios® II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
12367 Discussions

nios2-flash-programmer error code 1

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor I

Hi guys. I am new to FPGA world and seems like I am having some difficulties with the flash programmer that I cannot understand. Its giving me an error code 1 which I am unable to find a reference to.  

Purpose of the implementation: test out different functionality of the DE2-115 board. The FPGA part of the program includes SW, KEY, LED, and lcd, all of which is connected to the nios system generated from Qsys 

Qsys: includes clk, cpu, onchip memory, jtag uart, sysid, epcs flash controller and a bunch of PIOs. 

Here is what I did: 

1. set cpu reset vector to epcs. 

2. export externals of epcs flash controllers. it gives me the following input/outputs: 

epcs_flash_controller_external_dclk => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_dclk, -- epcs_flash_controller_external.dclk epcs_flash_controller_external_sce => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_sce, -- .sce epcs_flash_controller_external_sdo => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_sdo, -- .sdo epcs_flash_controller_external_data0 => CONNECTED_TO_epcs_flash_controller_external_data0 --  

3. apply terisic patch. as suggested in their manuals to include nios-2-flash-override 

# EPCS64N(lead-free)sector_size = 65536 sector_count = 128 # EPCS128N(lead-free) sector_size = 262144 sector_count = 64 

3. import some predefined pin assignments given by terasic.