Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

sdram use different clk with other ip in nios

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone: 

question1: 

I am new to altera and nios. 

Recently I download a reference design from internet, it use sdram as code memory, and it add a sdram controller. 

I find that the sdram controller use 100Mhz clk and the other ip (including the Nios II processor) use 50Mhz clk. 

Will the sdram controller automatically recognize the settings and make the exchange of data and instructions between the Nios II Processor and adram? 

question2: 

if i use sdram as code memory, can it be shared by other ip, or use as data memory for the system? assume the sdram is big enough to stroage the code.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

question1: 

Qsys automatically inserts a generic clock crossing bridge between devices operated at different clock frequency. For improved performance you may want to add an explicit clock crossing bridge component and configure it according to your needs. 

Anyway, I believe in your case the frequency splitting is not strictly necessary. What device are you targeting? Cyclone III and later devices can easily run a Nios system at 100MHz, so you'd rather setup everything for this frequency and avoid the delays and latencies involved with crossing clock domains. 

The conservative 50MHz is typical in reference designs: it helps you to easily meet timing constraints, at the expense of performance. 

question2: 

The answer is definitely Yes
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi cri72 

thanks! 

about the question2, can you give me more details or a document? 

thanks a lot!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II