Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

some questions about nios

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi everyone, i am new to nois, i encouter some problems in my project: 

1. sysid and timesteap errors  

when i start to run or debug in eclipse i meet the sysid and timesteap errors for several times. so i have to regenerate hdl in qsys, recompile design in quartus, rebuild project in eclipse, that wastes a lot time. how can i prevent this happen? 

2.Error starting gdbserver 

i meet this error once in eclipse when i want to run or debug. how to fix it? 

3. use pre-synthesis signals in signaltab analyer 

i find that the signaltap analyer(not plug-in ) is very usrful, especially when there is custom ip.using the signaltap II pre-synthesis to choose the signals i want to monitor is much easier than signaltap II post-fitting, but is the pre-synthesis mode reliable?i can find some signals in pre-synthesis mode that do not exist in post-fitting mode. how can the signaltap analyer guarantee the pre-synthesis signals i want to monitor is "real", will it cause misunderstanding during dubeg? 

4. the quartus compile 

i finish the debug and close eclipse, qsys and quartus, when i open the project again, there are no "green right" symble in the Tasks window, it seems like the project has not been compiled.do i have to re-complied the project? than cost a lot time in a big project . 

5. how to copy project 

it is important to bak projects, so when i finish one stage and i want to move on , i want to copy the project to a new floder, then i bak the old project. 

in soc systems, there are some connections between quartus, qsys, eclipse,  

how can i copy all of them to a new floder and make it still working? 

6. reset the ip