Nios® II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.

some questions about nios

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi everyone, i am new to nois, i encouter some problems in my project: 

1. sysid and timesteap errors  

when i start to run or debug in eclipse i meet the sysid and timesteap errors for several times. so i have to regenerate hdl in qsys, recompile design in quartus, rebuild project in eclipse, that wastes a lot time. how can i prevent this happen? 

2.Error starting gdbserver 

i meet this error once in eclipse when i want to run or debug. how to fix it? 

3. use pre-synthesis signals in signaltab analyer 

i find that the signaltap analyer(not plug-in ) is very usrful, especially when there is custom ip.using the signaltap II pre-synthesis to choose the signals i want to monitor is much easier than signaltap II post-fitting, but is the pre-synthesis mode reliable?i can find some signals in pre-synthesis mode that do not exist in post-fitting mode. how can the signaltap analyer guarantee the pre-synthesis signals i want to monitor is "real", will it cause misunderstanding during dubeg? 

4. the quartus compile 

i finish the debug and close eclipse, qsys and quartus, when i open the project again, there are no "green right" symble in the Tasks window, it seems like the project has not been compiled.do i have to re-complied the project? than cost a lot time in a big project . 

5. how to copy project