Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

sopc2dts component crypto_engine_0 of class crypto_engine is unknown

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm using QuartusII 14.0 webedition and SocEDS 14.0 on CentOS 6.6 with SoCKit. This is my first attempt at writing my own peripheral in the Altera environment. First I built the GSRD from scratch following the tutorial on Rocketboards and this worked fine and linux booted. 

Now I'm adding my own peripheral "crypto_engine". Been through the process of generating the .sof and .rbf without errors and I'm trying to build the device tree dts. I have two issues : 

1. The file hps_clock_info.xml was not created. Can I ignore this? 

2. I get a repeated error message from sopc2dts when I run the command : 

sopc2dts --input soc_system.sopcinfo --output socfpga.dts --board soc_system_board_info.xml 

component crypto_engine_0 of class crypto_engine is unknown 

component crypto_engine_0 of class crypto_engine is unknown 

I'm guessing there is something I have to do to let sopc2dts know more about my peripheral but I haven't be able to find any help. Can someone let me know how to proceed? 

Thanks Mike
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I think there is a post on this (or I did this at "rfi" on Rocketboards). 

Since I was having trouble - I did the following: 

1. Start with sopc2dts and create a .dts file from your .sopcinfo -- you should see in there your custom IP. 

2. I used the GSRD .dts file and added my custom IP from 1. 

3. I used dtc to creat a .dtb 

dtc -I dts -O dtb outputfilename.dtb inputfilename.dts
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Thanks I appreciate the reply. 

My custom IP does show up in the .sopcinfo file but is stripped out of the .dts file by sopc2dts.