Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12597 Discussions

the first code in C++ in Quartus II 13.0sp1 (64-bit) Web Edition

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

After Regards ,, 

I am a beginner in the use of FPGA ALTERA Cycllone II what are the steps to start writing simple code in C language and its implementation please help you friends . 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Mohkredi 

Download Cyclone II Kit for Demonstrations files and go through the documents. 

Check for simple example like:Hello world for coding  

Click 1 (https://www.altera.com/en_us/pdfs/literature/tt/tt_qsys_intro.pdf) 2 (http://faculty.lasierra.edu/~ehwang/courses/cptg445/notes/my%20first%20nios%20ii.pdf

Best Regards, 

Anand Raj Shankar 

(This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i need the steps to write simple code in C or C++ example : sum of matrix element

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

i need the steps to write simple code in C or C++ example : sum of matrix element 

--- Quote End ---  

It is unclear what your goal is. Are you looking to write C/C++ code that runs on a processor subsystem instantiated in an FPGA (like NIOS or SOC), or are you expecting to write C/C++ code that is compiled directly to FPGA logic cells / hardware? 

If the former, there are NIOS soft core processors available for the Cyclone II FPGA (and development boards which I suspect you would be using). However, this is not really using an FPGA to be an FPGA; what you would be doing is just running C code on a processor. You could do that on an Arduino board for much less cost, and a much simpler environment.