OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1718 Discussions

New SDK install fails with symbol lookup error when building kernel code

Robert_S_5
Beginner

Hello,

I'm quite new to OpenCL and parallel computing in general.

I have just installed the SDK on a Linux SLES11 computer with a Core i7-4770 Processor. 

Files installed were intel_sdk_for_ocl_applications_2014_4.6.0.92_x64.tgz and opencl_runtime_14.2_x64_4.5.0.8.tgz.

I've tried running two tests, first the sample code for general matrix multiply, and second a simple program to perform an addition and print out the processors capabilities, like MAX_COMPUTEEE_UNITS, MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE, etc.  They both fail upon trying to compile the kernel, with the following message:

symbol lookup error: /opt/intel/opencl-1.2-4.5.0.8/lib64/libclang_compiler.so: undefined symbol: _ZN5Intel6OpenCL5Utils6Logger11GetInstanceEv, version Base

I guess it's looking for a library it can't find?  Which one, and how to fix this problem.

Thanks, Bob

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Andy_R_
Beginner

We are having the exact same problem since upgrading our Intel OpenCL runtime to the latest version in opencl_runtime_14.2_x64_4.5.0.8.tgz.

Our application now fails with the error:

trade_pricer: symbol lookup error: /apps/tools/toolset10/Linux.3.0.101-0.35-default.x86_64/opencl-1.2-4.5.0.8/lib64/libclang_compiler.so: undefined symbol: _ZN5Intel6OpenCL5Utils6Logger11GetInstanceEv, version Base

where previously it was working fine.

To me this looks there is something wrong with the Intel opencl-1.2-4.5.0.8 runtime build. The missing symbol is part ot the Intel::OpenCL namespace,i.e.