OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.

Inner loops with OpenCL

akhal
Beginner

Hello

I am new to OpenCL and want to parallelize some looping code thats doing lu factorization with the looping structure showed by exact code as below:

for(int k = 0; k < N-1; k++)
{
for(int i = k+1; i < N; i++)
S[i*N + k] = S[i*N + k] / S[k*N + k];

for(int j = k+1; j < N; j++)
for(int i = k+1; i < N; i++)
S[i*N + j] -= S[i*N + k] * S[k*N + j];
}

I have done with the simple opencl kernel with single work items (no groping). Thats following:

int IDx = get_global_id(0);
int IDy = get_global_id(1);

for(int k = 0; k < n-1; k++)
{
barrier(CLK_GLOBAL_MEM_FENCE);

if(IDy > k && IDx == k)
matrix[IDy*n + IDx] = matrix[IDy*n + IDx] / matrix[IDx*n + IDx];

barrier(CLK_GLOBAL_MEM_FENCE);

for(int j = k+1; j < n; j++)
{
if(IDy > k && IDx == j)
matrix[IDy*n + IDx] -= matrix[IDy*n + k] * matrix[k*n + IDx];
}
}

But I dont get correct results when compared to the serial code, this is my personal try for OpenCL kernel and I am still learning how this data parallel scheme in OpenCL works, Can you point out what I am doing wrong in the kernel?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
akhal
Beginner
Anybody there ....
0 Kudos
stefanh
Beginner
Hello everybody,

I encounter exactly the same problem: A barrier within a inner loop seems not to guarantee a synchronisation within items of the same work group. Does anybody have an explanation for this issue?

Thank you in advance and kind regards
Stefan H.,
Germany
0 Kudos
Amjad_A_Intel
Employee
Sorry for the late answer.
I will check this issue and return to you as soon as possible.
Can you give me the version of the OpenCL SDK you are using?

Thanks.
0 Kudos