Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14507 Discussions

Compatible CPU Suggestion? I7 CPU 860

FrenchMan
Beginner

Hi there. I'm trying to boost my PC a little. I trying to find what CPU would be better than my I7 CPU 860 2.80GHz (discontinued and purchased last quarter of 2009...)  quad cores, 8 logical processors socket  LGA1156...  I think that any of the new generation compatible with this socket would be better but i'm no expert... I mainly do video editing for fun. I find that this CPU is little slow calculating during the rendering process. Anyone can help? I have 24GO RAM and changing my old diskdrive for a SSD this week son that will help too. 

thank you so much.

Frenchman from Québec

0 Kudos
6 Replies
AlHill
Super User

It is not just socket compatibility that you need to worry about.  An upgrade processor must also be chipset AND BIOS compatible.

Contact the motherboard/system manufacturer and ask them what processors are compatible with THEIR BIOS, and then select from those.

Personally, I would abandon your system in favor of a new(er) system.

0 Kudos
FrenchMan
Beginner

Super, thank you. so much for this quick reply  I thought that with the socket thing it would  be like changing a tire to a rim... Like I said I'm no expert. So I agree that changing PC is the next innevitable step. I will try to get a little juice from this one while shoping for the next best thing for me. Thanks for your reply. I will not invest more time in this quest but rather get to know what is on the market now for my project. Regards. 

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

There are only one or two better processors that can be used in this socket and,

1. These processor do not really offer much of a performance improvement over what you have.
  2. There is the possibility that these processors are not supported by your board.

Sorry, reality bites.

...S

[Grew up in Ontario - but lived in Montreal for a few years back in the 70's. Now living in Oregon]