Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14399 Discussions

I7 6700k instability

idata
Employee

My build that I have been running for over 4 months is now BSOD. No changes to hardware in over 2 months since adding a 1080GTX. I believe the cause on my BSOD is the CPU itself. Troubleshooting below

Receiving various BSOD crash errors. Including clock watchdog timeout.

Specs:

Graphics Card: PNY 1080 GTX

Mother Board: ASUS Maximus VII Hero

RAM: Corsair dominator platinum DDR4 3000MHZ

Power: 1200w Silent Pro Gold

CPU: I7 6700k

Troubleshooting:

- Tested without video card still BSOD

- Reset Board to factory defaults. Still BSOD

- Swapped out Ram to known working ram in another machine and tried one stick. Still recieving BSOD

- Tried replacing each computer part out with a known working part. Still received BSOD until switching I7 with a known working CPU. BSOD then stopped occuring.

- Tested faulty I7 in another known working machine and BSOD started to occur in known working machine.

Tried doing a warranty replacement but the system appears to be down

0 Kudos
4 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello sineyopity,

I will be more than glad to help you with your request.

Before we can proceed to complete any warranty process I would like to confirm with you:

The issues that you are facing, they are with one specific application or you can see it with everything that you run?

Is there a chance that you can provide me with any screenshot, in case if the issue it is located at a specific game or application?

Have you done any overclocking to your processor recently?

Once that you reply to me I will continue working with your request and if its needed we will try to help you with the warranty process.

Hope I can hear from you soon.

Regards,

Angie
0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Answers inline:

The issues that you are facing, they are with one specific application or you can see it with everything that you run?