Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14504 Discussions

Intel Extreme Tuning Utillity Silently dies after Crash, Windows10 Reinstall

Bushwacker61
Novice

I have been using the  Intel XTU application for a few months without issues. Yesterday, my system started acting strange while playing a game on Steam (Doom 64, part of the new Doom collector bundle). Mapped buttons were going haywire. I rebooted my system, and everything seemed OK again. However, I noticed that my XTU settings were reset to defaults.

I reapplied my stable settings, and restarted. The result was a serious of different fatal errors, including one that mentioned an invalid boot configuration, and another about a removable device not found. Needless to say, I was unable to restore, and had to do a full reinstall of Windows 10 Home. 

I'm not 100% sure what caused this problem, but I haven't made any system changes in several weeks, so maybe this is a result of another one of Microsoft's bad Win10 updates?

Regardless, after the OS reinstall and updating the OS and drivers again, the XTU tutility silently crashes, after being on the splash screen for several seconds. When it does this, my CPU fan spins to 85-100%, then nothing. The No error messages or blue screens, just a utility that won't load. I'd like to get this up and running again, since XTU is the only  way I can force XMP profiles for my memory,  in order to get it to run at the advertised clock speed. 

Below are my system specs:

Computer Brand Name: Hewlett-Packard 810-170st

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home (x64) Build 18363.900 (1909/November 2019 Update)

Motherboard Model: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2ACE

Motherboard Chipset: Intel C600/X79 (Patsburg)

BIOS Manufacturer: American Megatrends

BIOS Date: 11/06/2014

BIOS Version: 8.20

Memory Speed: 800.0 MHz (DDR3-1600 / PC3-12800) Corsair Vengence Pro.  Timings: 9-9-9-24. Running at 1033MHz, should be running at 1600MhZ with XMP active. 32GB Installed.