Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14403 Discussions

Intel Processor Diagnostic Tool 12900K Failed Brand String and CPU Frequency Tests

glacon
Beginner

I just put together my new system using an Asus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero board and an Intel 12900K processor.  I ran Intel's Processor Diagnostic Tool.  I am getting two errors: Brand string - Fail, and CPU frequency - Fail.  I've turned off any kind of overlocking and that didn't fix anything, and I have modified the power settings per my research which did nothing.  I have the latest BIOS and drivers.  

I have a feeling, though I am far from an expert, that the frequency error is directly related to the brand string error.  Perhaps if it can't identify the processor properly it doesn't know what frequency it should run at.

I noticed the tool is almost a year old, predating the 12 gen processors and my board.  I am also wondering if that could cause a problem.

I would love any help I can get to figure this out.

CPU 1 - Genuine Intel - Pass.
CPU 1 - BrandString - Fail.
CPU 1 - Cache - Pass.
CPU 1 - MMXSSE - Pass.
CPU 1 - IMC - Pass.
CPU 1 - Prime Number - Pass.
CPU 1 - Floating Point - Pass.
CPU 1 - Math - Pass.
CPU 1 - GPUStressW - Pass.
CPU 1 - CPULoad - Pass.
CPU 1 - CPUFreq - Fail.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DeividA_Intel

Hello glacon,  

Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.   

In order to better assist you, please provide the following:  

1. Run the Intel® System Support Utility (Intel® SSU) to gather more details about the system.  

· Download the Intel® SSU and save the application on your computer: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/18377/intel-system-support-utility-for-windows.html  

· Open the application, check the "Everything" checkbox, and click "Scan" to see the system and device information. The Intel® SSU defaults to the "Summary View" on the output screen following the scan. Click the menu where it says "Summary" to change to "Detailed View".