Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14499 Discussions

Need in depth techical infomation on J1900 errata VLPI1

ulfhei
Beginner

I need to get some technical details and recommendation regarding hardware workarounds for a CPU update, the J1900 VLPI1 Errata from Specification Update 335864-002.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Alberto_Sykes
Employee

ulfhei, Thank you for posting in the Intel® Communities Support.

In reference to your question, in order for us to be able to provide the most accurate information, we just wanted to confirm a few details about this matter:

Is there any particular reason why you need that information?

Are you a Developer?

Are you working on a project?

If it is possible, could you please explain what is that project about?

Any questions, please let me know.

Regards,

Albert R.

Intel Customer Support Technician

A Contingent Worker at Intel

0 Kudos
ulfhei
Beginner

I am a hardware developer, working at trying to sort out an alarming amount of very similar failures on a motherboard.

What I need is the kind of information that was given to Synology, Cisco et al regarding the extremely similar Rangeley C2000 AVR54 hardware bug (the description of the errata is worded the exact same way), so they could modify their boards by using a ~110 ohm pullup on one of the LPC_CLK signals.

We need to know what happens after one of the transistors that pull either of the ILB_LPC_CLK[0:1] signals up or down breaks/burns out, if that means that the other surviving transistor will also burn out soon after the first, this so that we can understand how long such a pullup/pulldown workaround could potentially prolong the life of the unit.

Also, we need to know what kind of defect caused the problem in the first place, so we can understand the problem on a more fundamental level. I have no problem accessing this information under the strictest of extra NDAs if that is what is needed to acquire it.