Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14507 Discussions

Random freezes and reboots with event Microsoft-Windows-WHEA-Logger Cache Hierarchy Error

LSilv33
Beginner

I'm an experienced builder and software developer, having built all my own workstations since 1990.

I recently built a new workstation running Windows 10 Enterprise Edition using the parts documented here:

PCPartPicker part list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/sKJfWD

CPU: Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor 

CPU Cooler: be quiet! - Dark Rock 4 CPU Cooler 

Motherboard: MSI - MPG Z390 GAMING PRO CARBON AC ATX LGA1151 Motherboard 

Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series

Storage: Samsung - 970 Evo 1 TB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive 

Case: NZXT - H500i

Power Supply: CORSAIR RMX Series, RM750x, 750 Watt, 80+ Gold Certified, Fully Modular Power Supply

I re-used some components from a prior build:

• A GeForce GT710 GPU for multi-monitor
  • A USB 4-port extender card
  • A discrete Intel Ethernet card.

I am not overclocking. I am running the memory at the designated 3200 speed with SPD values.

I have been experiencing random reboots. Several a day.

Event Log contains the following:

Log Name:   System

Source:    Microsoft-Windows-WHEA-Logger

Date:     4/10/2019 1:14:53 PM

Event ID:   19

Task Category: None

Level:     Warning

Keywords:    

User:     LOCAL SERVICE

Computer:   xxxxxxxxxxxxxx-removed-xxxxxxxxxxx

Description:

A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core

Error Source: Corrected Machine Check

Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error

Processor APIC ID: 2 (varies - sometimes 6, sometimes 2. No other numbers seen.)

Shortly after these events (within a minute or two), the machine either freezes or quickly reboots. No BSOD, no prompt, no memory dump.

The CPU runs 33C when idle and 75C max running prime95 small FFTs.

Things I've Tried

• Ran all Windows Updates
  • Ran sfc /scannow and dsim commands. No problems found.