Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14536 Discussions

SIMD register inside a core

cake
Beginner

Hi All,

I’m a student studying SIMD performance. While studying, I came across the following problems:

- how many SIMD registerss are there inside a core of a CPU? 

- we know that the registers are duplicated due to SMT Hyperthreading, are the SIMD registers also duplicated?

We can take Intel AVX-512 as an example. There are AVX-512 registers ZMM0–ZMM15, so making up 16 SIMD registers in a core. It seems the 2 HTs are sharing these 16 SIMD registers. Is this true?

Thanks!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Alberto_R_Intel
Employee

Hello cake, I just received an update on this matter.

The Intel® Core™ i9-10900K Processor has a total of 16 SIMD registers and each hyperthreading (HT) core will see its own 16 SIMD registers.

As for the example provided the answer is no, they are not sharing, each hyperthreading core will see its own 16 SIMD registers. In general, all the Instruction Set Architecture (ISA) defined registers need to be duplicated per-HT context so each HT can behave as a logic processor with no interference with the other HT cores.

Regards,

Albert R.

Intel Customer Support Technician

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Alberto_Sykes
Employee

cake, Thank you for posting in the Intel® Communities Support.

In reference to this case, the information requested might vary depending on the type of Intel® processor being used, is there any specific model of processor that you are interested in?

Please provide the specific model of the Intel® Processor so we can further assist you.

In the following link you will find additional information about SIMD that might be helpful for you:

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000005779/processors.html

Any questions, please let me know.

Regards,

Albert R.

0 Kudos
cake
Beginner

Hi Albert, 

Let's specify with intel i9-10900k.