Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14534 Discussions

Updating BIOS - says nothing is available

gdorian
Beginner

My desktop was custom built, it no longer lets me edit in Adobe Lightroom, crash, reboots.

I am a photographer and have to fix this somehow, someway. I am not near any towns, etc.

The BIOS: Intel Corp SOX5820J.86A.0920.2013.0729.0042   7/29/13

Motherboard: DX58SO2  ver:AAG10925.205

I thought, perhaps, BIOS needs updating, as now it reboots with BIOS page.

This site says nothing is available, really?

I am not a tech person, need to work, any ideas?

Powerspec G211 - Default System BIOS 7/29/13

Intel Core i7 CPU 960 @3.20GHz , NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, 12 GB memory

Thank you for any assistance, gretchen

0 Kudos
6 Replies
n_scott_pearson
Super User

Gretchen,

Intel is no longer hosting BIOS files for the Intel Desktop Boards. I have a backup of BIOS release(s) for most of the boards and provide them when folks require them. In this case, however, you already have the latest (and last) BIOS release for the Smackover 2 (SO2) board.

So I am confused by some of the other things that you are saying. Let's see if I can address the possibilities...

• If the board is always booting up directly into BIOS Setup, you may have the BackToBIOS button on the back panel engaged (pressed in). If so, release it. It has an LED built into it and, if it hasn't burned out, you can tell that it is engaged by this LED being lit.
  • If the board is properly booting into Windows but you are seeing indefinite hangs or short hangs followed by a spontaneous system reset (reboot), this points to a hardware issue. There are two major possibilities:
    • A power supply failure. Power Supplies are often the first component to fail. They are also the easiest to replace.