Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14405 Discussions

What does scalability mean?

manny8888
Beginner
Hi

I'm a rookie. What exactly does CPU scalability mean?
I've seen 1S and 4S. I think this is 1 socket and 4 socket. What exactly does this mean?
Thank you
0 Kudos
1 Solution
AndrewG_Intel

Hello manny8888

The difference is that a value of 1S means that the processor can be used in a 1-socket system and a processor that supports 4S scalability can be used in a motherboard/server with up to four sockets and so on depending on the scalability of the processor.

This is mostly used on servers since the motherboards commonly have 2 sockets, 4 sockets, etc depending on the motherboard manufacturer (OEM). This will allow to scale up to handle more load on the system with 2 or 4 units that will allow using more than the processor.

It is important to check what configuration you would like to perform, for instance, if you are planning to use 2 processors then you need to verify that the processor supports the scalability of two processors and check with the OEM to see which processors it supports and if you can or not mix processors (commonly not recommended) since it could not work and you have to use same models if planning to use 2 CPUs. However, the Intel® Core™ i9-12900K Processor can work only in 1 socket as it says on the Product Specifications website (Ark).

Another thing that OEMs use second processors is that it allows using more hardware of the board like PCIe lanes, DIMMs, and add more hardware as controlled by the second unit, etc depending on the manufacturer of the motherboard.

We hope this clarifies your inquiries.

Best regards,

Andrew G.

Intel Customer Support Technician

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
AndrewG_Intel

Hello @manny8888

Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.