Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14513 Discussions

What in 8th generation Intel CPUs prevents USB devices from working that do work with 7th gen Intel or current AMD CPUs?

izoard53
Beginner

Hi,

I'm a member of a tech support team. Our company produces analytical devices. With our machines we deliver latest gen Windows 10 Pro PCs.

Currently we have a detrimental issue with one of our product models that do not work anymore since we switched from 7th gen to 8th gen Intel processors in the PCs that control the machines. The devices contain a camera connected via USB, which doesn't produce images with our software consistently in the 8th gen PCs.

To sum up, the configuration in both PC types is identical, Windows 10 is identical with the same set of updates. In the previous 7th gen the device worked flawlessly right out of the box without any adjustments to Windows system config.

The only difference in hardware is that the new PCs have an i5-8400 CPUs with B360 chipset, while the previous PCs had i5-7400 CPUs with B250 chipset.

The test PC we have that comes with a latest gen AMD Ryzen Pro 5 CPU also showed no issues and worked just fine.

I checked everything from Windows 10 owner/user/admin privileges down to BIOS settings. Nothing ever seemed to work.

What puzzles me most is: I can get the camera to work by keeping Windows busy, e.g. by telling it to change writing permissions in a certain set of folders (rightclick on folder>properties >> uncheck write protection>apply). As long as the progress bar is still there, I can get the camera to scan correctly. As soon as the dummy write protection task is completed, the camera can't produce images anymore.

I'm totally out of ideas. Please help!

Thanks

0 Kudos
9 Replies
izoard53
Beginner

No idea, anyone?

0 Kudos
Abigail_G_Intel
Employee

Hello izoard53,

Thank you for posting on the Intel communities.