Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14403 Discussions

Will Intel processors discontinue Windows 7 or Linux support?

NLann
Beginner

Microsoft says they have agreement from computer chip manufactures to discontinue support for Windows 7.

I assume Linux will not be supported as well.

I am a system builder using OEM versions of Windows 7.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
AlHill
Super User

I would imagine that there might not be new driver or software development for anything less than W10, but that is just a guess. If the chip/processor supports Windows 7 now, how can that be taken away [by the chip manufacturer]?

However, Microsoft is on the hook to support Windows 7 until 2020, at which point users and builders should have moved on anyway, as W7 will be 11 years old. Just look at the mess created by the extended support of XP. I am sure that software and hardware manufacturers do not want to get into that mess again.

If I were a system builder, I would start my migration plan now, and be ready for 2020. There is just under four years to be prepared. And, that will go quickly.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/lifecycle Windows lifecycle fact sheet - Windows Help

Can you provide a link to such an agreement from Microsoft, or is it just a rumor?

This is just my opinion. All standard disclaimers apply.

Doc

0 Kudos
NLann
Beginner

Thanks Al Hill.

My issue is this: Will future Intel CPU's and/or chipset microcode prohibit the use of OS's like W7 or Linux? M$ has suggested this in a general sense, so I was hoping to hear from Intel if that's true and when we could expect CPU'/chipset support to end.