Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14513 Discussions

i7-7500U CPU temperature increasing and reducing by 30 degrees in 2 seconds?

idata
Employee

Hey all,

I have a 6-month old Lenovo Thinkpad E570. It has a GTX 950m, an i7-7500U CPU, and 16GB of RAM. Yesterday I was playing games on it and decided to run a temperature monitoring program just to see if everything was okay. The temperature was sitting at around 68-72 celsius. Warm, but not unreasonable for an i7 in a thin laptop playing video games. I started playing again and then checked back to find that the temperature had jumped from 68-72 to 98 for a second before returning to 68-72 after another second. When I say a second, I literally mean 1 second. I have the program set to update every second, so over the span of 2 seconds, the CPU temperature increased by nearly 30 degrees and then immediately reduced 30 degrees.

I stopped playing games and tested stuff out by surfing the internet. Idle temperatures just looking at a website were between 31-33 degrees. However, as soon as I clicked on a website and it started loading, the temperature shot up 30-40 degrees and then went back to normal within 2 seconds, just like when playing games. I have a video showing the temperature increase, but only uploaded to dropbox. I've tried attaching it below as a .mov file. Video shows idle temps between 31-33, increasing to 68, then immediately back down to 31-33. I've also seen the temps recorded going up to 82 degrees when loading a website.