Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14499 Discussions

i9 10900F constantly reading 100C while idle and loaded.

MetalmanNZ
Novice

Hi all.

First off I am in no way an expert computer person and I have never built my own PC before.  I made the jump from console to PC in 2018 having previously been a console player since the Atari 2600 days.

This week I received my second ever PC where I picked the parts and had a reputable company build and ship it to me.

Here is my PC:

Gigabyte Z490 Aorus PRO AX

i9 10900F

Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3080 Aorus Master

Cool Master ML120L Water Cooling

G.Skill Ripjaws V Series Black 32GB (2 x 16GB) 3600Mhz

Samsung 860 EVO 2TB SATA lll

Cool Master V 850W 80 Plus

Phanteks Eclipse P400A case

I have used MSI After Burner/RivaTuner ever since I began using PC's. When I installed MSI Afterburner/RivaTuner and played my first game (Borderlands 3) I noticed my CPU temperature was 100C! I am not use to seeing this with a CPU and stopped immediately. I checked the back of the case to feel for air movement and it seemed fine and the temperature of the exhaust air was mild. There was no weird noises and everything seemed to be fine but the temperature of the CPU according to MSI Afterburner was a constant 100C. I had a search on Google to see if there was any information on this issue and there was another recommended tool to use called CoreTemp. I installed this and it was also reading the CPU at 100C. I checked the airflow again since the CPU had been idling and the exhaust air appeared to be cool. All fans in the case are operating too.