Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14506 Discussions

i9 9900k CPU Core Temp reaching 100 Degrees

OneLivingLife
Novice

Is this Normal?

My i9 9900k CPU reaches 100 degrees as soon as the CPU load get around 100%. This did not happen for the first 2 years. Its almost 2.5 years now.

The CPU Fan is running at 96% and the CPU Socket Temp is at 72 degrees. PFA screenshot.

I have a CoolerMaster Liquid 240 cooler and CM HAF X Cabinet.

Motherboard MSI Z390 GA Edge AC

I did change my thermal paste after 2 years but it did not help!!

Is this normal? What should I check or do in order resolve this?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
OneLivingLife
Novice

PFA Intel SSU file if that helps.

0 Kudos
megan3000
Valued Contributor I

Is it expected to reach high temps during high workloads, but not expected to reach the highest temps 100C...

First, use a different tool to monitor the temps, just to make sure it is not a misreading from that app...

Then, I would update the BIOS. The report shows that you're running an older version from 2019...  There are 4 new versions, being the latest v. 7B17vAB (not the BETA)

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MPG-Z390-GAMING-EDGE-AC/support#down-bios

OneLivingLife
Novice

Thanks. I will update the BIOS now.

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

If it was working well before but reached this state simply over time, then there is a reasonably-good chance that the TIM (Thermal Interface Material, a.k.a. heatsink paste) needs to be replaced.

...S

OneLivingLife
Novice

But, as you can see, I already replaced the Thermal paste around 6 months ago.

0 Kudos
n_scott_pearson
Super User

Is that when your problems started?

0 Kudos
OneLivingLife
Novice

Nope, to resolve the problem, I changed my Heat sink paste but it did not help!!

0 Kudos
megan3000
Valued Contributor I