Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

10M02DCV36I7G - cheap, reliable clocking

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new to MAX10s and pretty new to FPGAs in general, and will be using 10M02DCV36I7G as a peak detector. The inputs come from two single-ended comparator outputs. 

I plan to use a number of phase-shifted clocks to minimize the timing uncertainty for when the peak was detected. For example four separate 400 MHz clocks each shifted a quarter period in relation to each other would give an uncertainty of 625 ps. 

The design needs to be low cost, low power and reliable, and I'm wondering if there is a downside to using a 5 MHz external crystal/oscillator with the 10M02 V36's internal PLL to generate four or five 400 MHz clocks. 

Anyone have some insights on this?
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

A 25MHz or 50MHz would probably be a better choice than 5MHz; as these frequencies are very common and the devices are readily available. 

Multiplication factor would be 10X smaller at 50MHz vs 5MHz, s depending on the characteristics of your 5MHz device you might get better jitter performance at 50MHz. 

5MHz is the absolute minimum input frequency to the PLL on a MAX10, so you would be right at the limit of the device capability.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you sure the MAX 10 fabric is fast enough to do what you need at 400MHz? The clock tree is rated for 416MHz in your speed grade, and the PLLs can handle 400MHz, but that doesn't mean you can do any real work at that frequency. I normally gauge the fabric speed by how fast the internal hard blocks can run (e.g., RAMs and multipliers). In an I7 MAX 10 18x18 multipliers are rated at 240MHz and M9K blocks are rated at 300MHz (both assume dual supply mode). Depending on what you're doing 400MHz sounds extremely aggressive. And multiple phases at 400MHz sounds off-the-charts aggressive.