Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Arria 10 multiplier speed

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm rather new to practical FPGA design though I have a lot of theoretical background.  

I'm working with (starting/trying to would be more accurate) the Arria 10 development kit 

which has Arria 10 10AS066N3F40E2SG in case it matters but this is a more general question. 

I've been up and down the information highway and forums and documentation for 

half a day but I can't find the answer. 

How do I determine what kind of speeds this chip is capable? 

I realise that the actual design will affect what can be achieved but the design will 

be influenced by speeds that can be achieved, kind of chicken and egg eh? 

Here is my current problem. 

I need to perform 10 bit x10 bit => 20 bit (signed) multiplication and accumulate 

the result at 730 MHz. 

How can I find out if this is at all realisable?  

If not I need divide the data stream to two or more parallel processing paths. 

I'm looking for concrete and practical guidance.  

I expect I will need to write some synthesisable Verilog and time that on the 

simulator right? 

From here: 

https://people.ece.cornell.edu/land/courses/ece5760/de1_soc/hdl_style_qts_qii51007.pdf 

I found (just an example): 

module signed_mult (out, clk, a, b); output [15:0] out; input clk; input signed [7:0] a; 

input signed [7:0] b; 

reg signed [7:0] a_reg; reg signed [7:0] b_reg; reg signed [15:0] out; wire signed [15:0] mult_out; 

assign mult_out = a_reg * b_reg; 

always @ (posedge clk) begin 

a_reg <= a; b_reg <= b; out <= mult_out; 

end endmodule 

This is 1 stage pipe line I think, but how could this be further pipelined? 

AFAIU it can't -- hopefully it will be realised with a hardware multiplier block 

in Arria 10 and that set the ultimate limit (routing delays etc not withstanding),  

right?  

But what is this limit, it must be documented somewhere?