Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

Clock Assignment

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am very new to this field. 

I have some questions and it would be very helpful if u can answer some of them. 

I need to assign global and regional lines to route my LVDS clock (INT_CLK) from CLK0 to FPLL1, from CLK0 to EPLL5 and 6; and from FPLL1 output to an external PLL. I am using tcl for this. 

I wrote the follwoing command in my assignment editor: 

set_instance_assignment GLOBAL_SIGNAL "GLOBAL CLOCK' -to "INT_CLK_P" 

I have also tried using, 

set_instance_assignment GLOBAL_SIGNAL -from "INT_CLK_P" -to "FPLL1" 

set_instance_assignment GLOBAL_SIGNAL -from "INT_CLK_P" -to "EPLL5" 

No matter what I do I am not able to assign the desired global and regioanl signals. 

My report just says that a global line has been allocated to INT_CLK, but it does not tell me whether it goes to FPLL1 or EPLL5 or 6. 

The very first question is that do I even need a global line to connect CLK0 to FPLL1 as there is a dedicated line for them. 

Secondly, to route to FPLL1 or any PLL, do I use "FPLL1" or "EPLL5" etc in the syntax or there is some other way to define them. 

Please let me know. 

Regards, 

TM
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

The very first question is that do I even need a global line to connect CLK0 to FPLL1 as there is a dedicated line for them. Secondly, to route to FPLL1 or any PLL, do I use "FPLL1" or "EPLL5" etc in the syntax or there is some other way to define them. 

--- Quote End ---  

If you use the right combination of dedicated clock input pin and PLL (or combination of PLL and dedicated clock output pin for a clock you are driving out), you will get the "dedicated line" automatically. I have had a case where using an unnecessary global signal assignment resulted in a global buffer being used needlessly instead of the intended dedicated line.