Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Connecting OV9655 Camera to Cyclone II Board (Qsys/Nios)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm a beginner at the FPGA domain, and would be grateful for any help. 

I have a Cyclone II EP2C35 board with SDRAM and DM9000A Ethernet controller. I want to connect a small OV9655 camera module, and to transmit a single frame over Ethernet - just as a self learning project. (I'm using Quartus 11) 

The camera has the same interface as other omnivision modules, which means 8-bit data (can use 10-bit mode but not in my setup), HSync, VSync and Pclk (pixel clock).  

It also has Xclk pin which is the input clock - I'm using 25[MHz] clock from a PLL. An I2C interface is used for configuring the camera, I've connected a different microcontroller to the I2C interface in order to conveniently configure it to QQVGA mode as defined here:  

https://github.com/mfauzi/stm32f4/blob/master/stm32f4%20discovery%20software%20examples/stm32f4xx_camera_example/project/ov9655_camera/src/dcmi_ov9655.c 

As for the FPGA/Nios system so far I have done this: 

- Built a qsys system which includes SDRAM controller, SGDMA (Stream-to-Memory), DC FIFO, and added interfaces for DM9000A and OV9655. The main clock input is 50[MHz]. 

https://s10.postimg.org/4gf4olb55/qsys1.png  

https://s3.postimg.org/5fsoauokj/qsys2.png  

- With the Nios II EDS IDE I've tested the DM9000A driver which is working fine - I'm succecfuly sending UDP packets over the net. Also writing and reading from the SDRAM works fine.  

- I'm Using the code for SGDMA from http://www.alterawiki.com/wiki/sgdma  

Now I'm trying to run the DMA transfer of 160x120 QQVGA frame (which at RGB565 mode is 120x160x2 bytes long, and over the 32-bit wide SDRAM memory is actually 160x120x2/4 = 9600 words ) 

The problem is that the data I'm getting inside the SDRAM after running the DMA descriptor seems malformed..