Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

DE0-Nano Control Panel connect problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

this is my first time use Altera fpga board, i copy the "DE0_Nano_ControlPanel" folder and try to run the application, it shows connection problem due to two missing file "jtag_client.dll" and "dinkum_alt.all",  

after copy two files from installation folder /bin directory, (why they don't include these two files in the folder?, user manual says just copy the folder and run the applicaiton.......)  

it shows "quartus_pgm download fail(0 sec), if click "ok",  

it shows "download SOPC file (DE0_Nano_ControlPanel.sof) fail! 

DE0_Nano_ControlPanel.sof is existing in the folder,  

so any idea what is going on there? 

Thanks, 

Bryce
16 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Bryce, 

I had a similar problem to yours. First, I downloaded the newest version of the Control Panel from Terasic. This only marginally helped in that it changed the error message slightly. What my problem was, was that the drivers weren't loaded for the DE0-Nano. It showed up in the device manager as a USB-Blaster. I updated the drivers through the update client in the device manager program by navigating to C:\altera\10.1\quartus\drivers and letting the computer install what it felt was appropriate. I am running windows 7 x64 professional. Hope that helps. 

Michael
MGree42
Beginner

This worked for me on the DE10-Lite board as well.

When I ran this command:

.\bin64\quartus_pgm.exe -m jtag -c USB-Blaster[USB-0] -o "p;C:\Users\Michael Green\OneDrive\Documents\DE10-Lite-v.2.0.3_SystemCD\Tools\ControlPanel\DE10_Lite_ControlPanel.sof"

I got this error:

Error (213013): Programming hardware cable not detected

So with the board connected, I just reran this:

C:\IntelFPGA_lite\19.1\quartus\drivers\DPInst

I then relaunched the control panel and was able to connect to the board

Alzaid
Beginner