Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

EPM7064LC programming on my own

Dominique_
Beginner

Hello,
I'm a hobbyist in electronics. I own a few EMP7064LC84-15 CPLD Chip (Altera MAX 7000 series) which do not have ISP feature (no JTAG programming). I found general purpose "inexpensive" chip programmers for sale which coast is nearly one thousand of dollars, i.e. far too expensive to program just one type of CPLD.
I'd consider throwing those chips away and affording some from the MAX7000S series (which do have ISP capabilities) instead.

The other option I may have is to generate the appropriate signal waveform to program those non-ISP chips (Windows software and VHDL programming are not an issue to me). I browsed the web for a while and I didn't find any helpful specifications or data sheets. I just could figure out that a 12V voltage source is required, and I wondered if someone you would be so kind as to provide me with the documentation which would give me an opportunity to program those few CPLD chips instead of getting rid of them. Hoping that such information are not highly confidential.

Thanks in advance
Dominique

0 Kudos
3 Replies
YuanLi_S_Intel
Employee

Hi,

May i know which information you are looking for? We have datasheet for MAX 7000 and it is as stated:

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/ds/archives/m7000.pdf

Thank You

0 Kudos
Dominique_
Beginner

Hello,

sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I have read nearly all the documentation about MAX7000 including the link you provided. Actually in this document just after the "ISP programming" section (page 16), you can find the "Programming with external hardware" (page 21).