Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20680 Discussions

HLS Error Message when I run the generated .exe

Manusch
Beginner
Hello I am a MSc student and completely new to FPGA and HLS, so apologies if this is a stupid question. I am currently trying to get one of the examples (that comes with the hls packages -> counter) into QuestaSim or ModelSim. To do so, I follow the "Intel High Level Synthesis Compiler User Guide". To be more specific, I try to follow chapter 6.2. I use the init_hls.bat, navigate to my example folder and run: i++ -march=Arria10 -ghdl=1 counter.cpp -o test_xxxx.exe (xxxx being a number to label my test) This gives me the error message: "EmitRawText called on an MCStreamer that doesn't support it, something must not be fully mc'ized aocl-clang: error: clang frontend command failed with exit code 3 (use -v to see invocation) HLS Clang (Generating testbench object file) FAILED." However, I noticed I can change the command to: i++ -march=Arria10 -ghdl counter.cpp -o test_xxxx.exe (without the "=1") Then it generates the folder with everything in it, as well as test_xxxx.exe. However here is my problem: If I try running test_xxxx.exe I get this Error: Error: The simulator's process ended unexpectedly. Check \counter/test_xxxx.prj/verification/transcript.log for details. Assertion failed: sockfd != INVALID_SOCKET && "IPCSocketMaster::connect() call to accept() failed", file src/hls_cosim_ipc_socket.cpp, line 198 And the transcript file that is being mentioned does not exist, so I have no clue how to prevent this error. Did I make a mistake with the command? What can I do? I am on Windows 10, and use Quartus Prime Standart Edition 19.1, HLS Compiler 19.1 Thank you!
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Manusch
Beginner

Hello, it is me again. We found the reason for the error, and I thought I document it here for others.

The problem was that the project folder had a folder in its path that had an empty space in its name,