Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

I'm implementing a Math Equation on my FPGA, am I following the right methodology?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear friends, 

This is my first project ever in FPGA. 

I'm implementing a Math Equation over a list of numbers (data) which range from 0 - 255, one by one, data can contain 100 or 10.000 or 50.000 numbers, it's irrelevant, it's also irrelevant the nature of the equation itself. 

I have finished a logic implementation in verilog in ModelSim-Quartus II, which can successfully load the values from a (simulated) memory and output the correct result after some iterations.  

Now I wish to implement it in "real life" on my board DE1-SOC. The first thing I need to do is to "fill" the memory on the FPGA board with the data to process, data comes from my PC, once it's filled, I want my logic to start to process the data and output the results, outputting values back to the memory. 

From here the board should make a little choice regarding a threshold of the resulting data and to produce 3 groups from here. The way the board do that isn't of my concern, since my task is only to design the logic implementation of the equation (which I already did). 

Finally, system should send these 3 groups of data to my PC. 

I have some assumptions on how to do this. I wish to know your opinion and advice. I wish to know where to start and what tutorials to address and topics to study. 

I think this is the way to do it. This is SoC system and I have to start by implementing a QSYS project, with the convenient QSYS tool, matching the components, the IO ports Jtag-UART, the on-chip memory, my logic implementation and finally the NIOS-II implementation.