Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Implementing CAM (Content Addressable Memory) on Cyclone III

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone, 

I'm new at the Altera Forum and I'm also a newbie in using Altera FPGAs. 

In order to design a packet filter for a DVB application, I'm looking for a solution to implement a CAM (Content Addressable Memory) on a Cyclone-III FPGA. 

Can anyone help me with that? 

Thanks in advance 

Modellpilot
0 Kudos
23 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

speak out ur deign spec such as 512x32bit,dual port,dual clock. 

In Quartus, it's easy to realize by using megawiard tool!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sorry, but I think there is a missunderstanding: I'm looking for a CAM not for a RAM :cool:  

I allready had a look on Quartus. And Yes, the MegaWizard Plug-In Manager provides a lot of different memory controllers (single/dual-port, single/dual-clock, RAM/ROM/SREG). But CAMs are only supported when using an APEX device. When selecting a Cyclone-III CAMs and Flash Memory is disabled :mad:  

Modellpilot
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What size do you want? What speeds? Is it Ternary(this is often a deal-breaker for larger CAMs, unless you don't mind using a ton of resources). There's a nice trick for making binary CAMs out of RAMs. I have a parameterized VHDL design for it, but I wrote it a few years ago and it targets either M4Ks or M512s. I can modify it for M9Ks, or might post-it as is for now, but am curious what your requirements are, as it might not work for you.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I need a 24x12 CAM (means 5-bit address and 12-bit word size). It would be great if you could help me with a VHDL code :)  

A version for M9Ks would be fine. But I think it is no big deal to adapt an example for M4Ks. Right? Thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II