Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20639 Discussions

Interfacing to epcs64 from fpga

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am new to FPGAs and it is my first post here. 

We have developed a custom EP4SGX70 based board. 

FPGA Configuration is done using JTAG 

On the board we have EPCS64 which I am trying to use to store some custom data. 

MSEL[2:0] = 011 and EPCS64 is connected to the FPGA as per datasheets. 

I have build a test project in Quartus II and I am able to load in FPGA (using JTAG) and all runs fine. 

So I started testing the AMSI interface 

- I have added ASMI Parallel IP to my project and configured it for EPCS64 flash. 

- I have enabled read_sid feature as it looks as simple way to test if I can access the EPCS64. 

- In Quartus Assignments/Settings/Device/Device and Pin Options/ I have enabled "Active Serial (can use configuration device)" 

- I have provided 6.25MHz clock and reset to the ASMI IP and I have sent read_sid command (as per ASMI user guide)  

but I get 0xFF as Silicon ID. 

I do get busy signal with proper duration as per ASMI IP user manual. I hooked an oscilloscope at the pins of EPCS64 device  

and I measure the following:  

nCS - constant low 

DATA - constant high 

DCLK - constant low 

ASDI - constant low 

Note that above is after loading my FPGA configuration. What is puzzled me even more is that I measure the same voltages without ASMI IP in my project.  

it seems FPGA is keeping all SPI outputs low. (Something related with the fact we configure FPGA from JTAG? ) 

And I don't see any activity on the EPCS64 SPI bus (I put my read_sid in a 5 seconds loop)  

If I reset the FPGA board and before loading the FPGA configuration I have on SPI pins: 

nCS - constant high 

DATA - high impedance (I measure 0.7V) 

DCLK - constant low 

ASDI - constant high 

Probably someone can spot directly what I am missing? 

Or what can I do to investigate more?