Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20690 Discussions

Is SystemVerilog Catching on for Design

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, I'd like to know how how popular SystemVerilog is today, how many people are switching from Verilog to SV? I'm pretty much a AHDL guy but I've been trying to teach myself Verilog. One thing that bothers me is that I can find lots of books on Verilog for design but most books on SystemVerilog are for Verification or Testbenches. I thought it would be better to learn Verilog and try it out on a few designs and then try to learn SystemVerilog.  

If anyone has some comments to share please do. Also if you have any good web sites on learning SV or Verilog please share them too. 

Thanks, 

joe
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Joe - 

I'm a former AHDL guy, now Verilog guy. I just started learning SystemVerilog a couple weeks ago. It is very much 'Verilog with some add-ons' rather than a new beast. The addons are GREAT if you find yourself wanting C-like structures / datatypes. There are some nice new features for doing constrained random simulation, and asserts. A couple of minor annoyances in the Verilog syntax are removed. 

I started off with this link from some language buffs. It's a little bit out of date, but it sums up the Verilog / SV changes pretty well. 

http://www.sutherland-hdl.com/papers/2003-systemverilog_white_paper.pdf 

The SV support in Modelsim and Quartus is pretty good. You can tell it isn't quite as polished as the straight Verilog, but pretty civilized. 

-Gregg
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Gregg, 

Hello, thanks for the link and the encouragement.  

joe306
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If you are to use HDL language I recommand SystemVerilog. Learn verilog first then jump all in to system verilog. You just have more with SystemVerilog.