Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20703 Discussions

Is it feasible to use the GPIO of Cyclone IV to generate a 148.5MHz clock signal?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to Altera FPGA Forum. 

I managed to design a video signal source by using the Altera FPGA for generating test signals. It would send a 1080p60 digital video signal in BT.1120 20bit data format. Meanwhile, I managed to generate a 148.5MHz clock from altera PLL and use the GPIO as an output for this 148.5MHz clock. A Cyclone IV FPGA would be used in our project.  

My Questions: 

I. is it feasible for the gpio to generate a 148.5mhz clock signal?  

II. which parameter in Altera Cyclone Handbook would tell me the max io speed of a GPIO? 

I am sincerely looking forward to your reply. 

Naroah 

Feb/21/2014
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The Cyclone IV PLL's have dedicated PLL output pins that should be used in this case for the best jitter and timing performance. 

Is 148.5 MHz output reasonable with these, yes, but it depends on the IO standard used. I remember the old altera handbooks having a Fmax specification for each IO standard, but I don't see it in the handbook anymore. It may be they removed it, because it's too dependent on the loading and the IO option used, and people were complaining.. I don't know. 

LVDS standards can do 600-800 MHz toggling with not too much difficulty. 

Pete
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Pete (anakha), 

Thank you for your reply! 

Yes, I did find the IO speed specification of Cyclone II in cyclone ii handbook, while such a specification is absent for Cyclone IV in cyclone iv handbook. That's why I tried to post this thread. And yet I don't think there would be any difficult for a 45nm-Cyclone to generate a 148.5MHz external clock output.