Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

It may sound naive.. Is there any good open source FPGA design? for education purpose

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello 

I've been trying to learn some designing HW by FPGA verilog.  

My background is, I have experience about building customized PIO using DE1-SoC, hashing support HW,, and not much.  

I think it is enough for 'playing' with FPGA, and I want to enhance my skill. 

What I'm trying to look is, well coded open source verilog FPGA design, so that I can learn some skill and idea from it. 

Let me give you an example,  

someone told me about learning C language,  

" it is better strategy to learn coding by analyzing well coded program, such as Linux kernel, than practicing building program by yourself, because your thought is limited so your coding skill will not improve that much "  

well I think this is very true because as I look inside the linux kernel source, specifically strat_kernel(), what I found is such a beautiful logic inside of it .. this doesn't tell me 'the programming skill' directly, but somehow I learned some idea from it, something like manipulating struct data structure for example. 

Anyway, I'm trying to look well coded open source verilog FPGA design, so I can learn some idea, as same as linux kernel in C. Of course not that much as sophisticated as linux kernel, but I want any reference design to learn. 

It would be really appreciated for any helps..  

Thanks in advance,!!! : D
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

"Well Coded" and "open source" dont usually go together in FPGA land. Most open source projects are hobby projects which generally lack documentation or good coding practice (IMO) 

Open source cores can be found at opencores.org. 

Another source of learning will be reference designed supplied by Altera and Xilinx (for their FPGAs).
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I see