Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Me and my simple questions: Can I do this in FPGA?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi dear Altera friends. Sorry for the simple questions, i'm a beginner. My FPGA is DE1-SoC University, i'm learning how to use it. 

My question today is the following one: 

Until now, with the help of the student material of Altera, I have learn how to implement simple circuits, ALU and registers. Now, Is it possible to implement in hardware complicated equations? Like 1 divided by a a big number, or square roots, I mean, to work with real numbers like 0.0031416 and so on?  

I know how to do this either in C and Assembler, but I don't know if this is possible to do in FPGA and VHDL. 

A senior friend told me, this is not possible to do in VHDL, he said I have to make of use ARM chip in my FPGA and program it fon C, since FPGA and VHDL alone is not able to perform such of calculations. 

What can you say about this? 

Example: 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=11555&stc=1
0 Kudos
37 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your friend doesnt know much. Altera provides floating point cores to do floating point arithmatic. https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/ug/ug_altfp_mfug.pdf 

While you wouldnt be using much VHDL, you are designing a circuit. The VHDL would just glue the cores together. 

But floating point in FPGA does have it's issues - it has high resource usage and high latency. If you have a constant data stream then the FPGA can process far more than a processor could handle (it can do it in real time - you basically build a custom co-processor). But if it's just a few calculations then it's probably easier to let an arm do the work. 

So the answer is "Yes it can do it". But you will need to think seriously about how to implement it.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Tricky right. You can