Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20687 Discussions

Mysterious trouble sharing FPGA RAM with HPS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all 

I'm a hobbyist and I'm trying to learn verilog and FPGA design by building a PDP-8 simulator. I've built the verilog for the PDP8 and it passes all the test code when run on a simulator. 

I'm now trying to build it into the DE1-SoC so that the HPS can, via a program written in c, load PDP8 code into the RAM on the FPGA, start the PDP8 CPU which lives on the FPGA and communicate with the PDP8 on the FPGA via a terminal interface. 

My problems are at the first integration step. I have a verilog module pdp8_RAM.v which I hope to have built to be a dual-port RAM that is shared by the HPS and the FPGA-PDP8. The code is below: