Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

NIOS II SPI communication

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All! 

I've a problem with Nios SPI communication. I studied "Embedded Peripherals IP User Guide" but I didn't understand how to use alt_avalon_spi_command() function. I understood that an Avalon-MM master peripheral controls and communicates with the SPI core via six 32-bitregisters. So I searched more examples on web but I only found this: 

//------------------------------------ MAIN ------------------------------------------------------------ 

int main(void){ 

void send(alt_u16 write); 

alt_u16 receive(); 

alt_u16 wrdata=0xabcd; 

alt_u16 rddata; 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_SLAVE_SEL(SPI_BASE, 1); 

IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_RXDATA(SPI_BASE); 

while(1){ 

send(wrdata); 

rddata=receive(); 

return 0; 

//-------------------------------------- SEND ------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

void send(alt_u16 write){ 

alt_u32 status; 

alt_u16 data; 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_CONTROL(SPI_BASE, 0x0400); 

do{ 

status = IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS(SPI_BASE); 

while (((status & ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_TRDY_MSK) == 0)&&(status & ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_RRDY_MSK) == 0); 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_TXDATA(SPI_BASE , write); 

data=IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_RXDATA(SPI_BASE); 

do{ 

while ((status & ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_TMT_MSK) == 0); 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_CONTROL(SPI_BASE, 0); 

//----------------------------------- RECEIVE -------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

alt_u16 receive(){ 

alt_u16 data; 

alt_u32 status; 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_CONTROL(SPI_BASE, 0x0400); 

do{ 

while (((status & ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_TRDY_MSK) == 0 ) && (status & ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_RRDY_MSK) == 0); 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_TXDATA(SPI_BASE , 0x00); 

data=IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_RXDATA(SPI_BASE); 

do{