Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20680 Discussions

POF file format specification

LZANU
Novice

Hello all,

I'm a IC support engineer.

I would like to understand better the POF file format in order to support the 10M08SA device.

I found the fmt_pof.pdf, but it provides just a short overview.

Is there any other document available?

For example, the packet with tag 17 (Logical address and data32) has an additional header of 12 bytes. It should be composed as follows:

long address;

short ?;

long size_in_bits;

short ?;

Is it correct?

Which is the meaning of the two short fields?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
ShafiqY_Intel
Employee

Hi LZANU,

The is no other document available for details explanation on POF file format. I'm apologize for inconvenience.

Basically, the POF file is used to program an external flash device configuration, like a flash or EEPROM device (maintain its contents once power is disconnected)

And SOF file is used to programs the FPGA fabric directly (FPGA is SRAM cell). (its contents not maintain once power is disconnected)

Cheers

0 Kudos
LZANU
Novice

Hi ShafiqY,

Thank you for your reply.

If I am not wrong the Max 10 family provides also an internal flash memory (CFM and UFM) to be programmed. In fact, Quartus programmer allows to program it once the pof file si loaded (please see the attached screenshot).

What can I do to have such information? If I open a support case, then they suggest to ask the community.

Quartus_programmer_max10.png

0 Kudos
ShafiqY_Intel
Employee

Hi LZANU,

Yes, you're right. MAX 10 Family have internal flash memory.(you no need to buy extra flash :) )

max 10 internal flash.JPG

If you program the POF file, the design maintain its contents once power is disconnected

If you program the SOF file, the design do not maintain its contents once power is disconnected