Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

Pre emphasis and Equalization in Stratix 10

SK_VA
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to transceiver training toolkit.I did the Intel training for transceiver training toolkit. Even though the training explains about different PMA settings options available in toolkit,it doesn't give a clear view on how to decide and set values for VOD,pre emphasis and equalisation settings.

I would like to know if there are good references that explain the PMA settings and its impact on BER.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
CheePin_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

As I understand it, you have some inquiries related to the explanation references for S10 PMA settings ie VOD, pre-emphasis and equalization. For your information, based on my understanding, there is no specific documentation on this. However, on the high level, the following might be helpful to you:

1. VOD would affect the eye opening of the TX output voltage swing. The high the VOD value, the larger the voltage swing.

2. pre-emphasis would affect the rising and falling edge. You would need to tune to the optimal settings which can give you optimal eye.

3. RX equalization - generally these parameters would help to boost the eye of the received signals

Specific to S10 TX PMA settings, you may refer to the following estimator which will provide you a better graphical illustration on the VOD and pre-emphasis settings.

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_US/others/literature/hb/stratix-10/stratix10_htile_pre_emphasis_and_output_swing_estimator.xlsx

Note that the required combination of PMA settings would be dependent on your board. You would need to tune the settings to achieve your target BER.

Please let me know if there is any concern. Thank you.

Best regards,

Chee Pin

0 Kudos
SK_VA
Beginner

Hi,

Can I use an example design targeting H Tile stratix 10 device for L Tile Stratix device.

Regards,

Sanju

0 Kudos
CheePin_C_Intel