Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20677 Discussions

Qsys Hangs When Adding Module

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys, 

I am very new to using Qsys at this time. I have bought the Cyclone V SoC Development Kit recently. And I have found that Qsys hangs as I was trying to add the Cyclone V Hard Processor System. 

I have attached a snapshot here as well. 

Can I ask you if something is missing on my system ?? am I missing a license or something ?? Or at least, what can I do to find out the root cause and how to fix or work-around this issue ?? 

Thanks, 

TH
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I have just found out that Qsys also hangs when I was trying to open a system (i.e. soc_system.qsys) as well. 

Can I ask you if something is missing on my system ?? am I missing a license or something ?? Or at least, what can I do to find out the root cause and how to fix or work-around this issue ?? 

Thanks, 

TH
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello th_altera_forum, 

In these kind of questions additional info (Operating system / Quartus version can be of use) 

Did you install the Quartus / Qsys version from the cd in the box or did you install the latest version downloaded from the altera web site ? 

Q17 runs stable on my system. (Win7) 

You might consider trying to open or compile a tutorial to see if the problem comes from your application or from the system code. 

Best Regards, 

Johi.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Johi, 

Thank you for your reply. 

I installed Quartus (Quartus Prime 17.0) Standard Edition from the lastest version downloaded from the Altera website. 

Because when I bought the kit, it said in the welcome letter that "Note that CDs and DVDs are not included with this kit...". Is there a difference between the DVD versus the web-install ??