Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Simulation of timing analysis in ModelSim-Altera ??!!!

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey guys , this is my first time to use the ModelSim-Altera analysis tool. I followed many tutorials and I know how to set the parameters of the TimeQuest and I get correct compilation of the TimeQuest with no unconstrained path nor negative slacks . The problem is that when I simulate the design using ModelSim (RTL Simulation) it works fine at any frequency as if its just functional simulation , so even when I work with clock much higher than maximum frequency it still works well. I want to know how to properly test the timing requirements of the design ??  

Thx in advance .
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It is likely without delay file so is functional, you can check delays directly on waveforms. Frankly I never used timing sim since functional + TQ analysis is adequate if you are experienced enough. timing sim is very slow and for big projects is unrealistically low that may take whole weekend to finish

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thx Kaz , So u mean I do not need to check timing on waveforms if the TQ is giving correct results ? , I still need to see the exact timing simulation on waveforms ? so what would u suggest ?  

Another question is if I try design a fully combinational circuit , how do i get the timing analysis results (Max latency between Inputs and outputs) if i do not have any clocks ?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Thx Kaz , So u mean I do not need to check timing on waveforms if the TQ is giving correct results ?  

--- Quote End ---  

Provided your constraints are correct.  

--- Quote Start ---  

I still need to see the exact timing simulation on waveforms ? so what would u suggest ?  

--- Quote End ---