Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20677 Discussions

TCP Ethernet packet in FPGA?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I have a Cyclone IV GX transceiver kit. I want to observe TCP packets in signal tap in FPGA (and hopefully it'll be same as the one I observe in Wireshark) How do I do that? 

This is what I want to do: 

(1) step 1: Send a TCP packet to my own computer using a client program. 

(2) step 2: connect ethernet cable from my modem to the transceiver on my FPGA. 

(3) step 3 (greatest confusion here): get a clean packet (data, valid, start of packet, end of packet) into my FPGA. 

(4) step 4: observe packets in signal tap. Hopefully this will be the same I see in wire shark. 

How do I accomplish this? What IP's do I need to instantiate? Any help truly appreciated. I've never done anything like this before.... 

Thanks. 

giga
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If you are using the Altera Triple Speed Ethernet IP, the received packets come out in an Avalon Stream Source. You can include all the signals from this analog interface in the signaltap project, and use a conditional storage qualifier with both the ready and valid signals at 1. That way signaltap will only record the signals when there is an actual transfer taking place. Then add a trigger on the "start of packet" signal.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Daixiwen - thanks for the reply. The only thing I understood from your reply was the signal tap stuff. Can you please walk me (sorry :( ) through the IP's I should generating and instantiating? Right now I thought I could go through the Transceiver PHY IP Core User Guide. Is that a good place to start? I have this habit of reading irrelevant document and I usually go down the wrong path. Can you please walk me through it ?