Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

VHDL Error (10028): Can't resolve multiple constant drivers for net...

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I'm a rank beginner, so expect beginner errors. I am using Quartus v9.1. 

I'm getting the famous "Error (10028): Can't resolve multiple constant drivers for net "button1" at keyfob_top.vhd(65)" 

I know what it is happening, but I'm unable to see _why_ it is happening. Button1 is declared as a SIGNAL, therefore there can only be ONE line of code that changes its actual value. This is why PROCEDURE set_button1() exists, it acts as a multiplexer, reducing the number of code instances that change button1 to one. 

The problem starts when I add a second call to set_button1(), which gives the error above. From what I can tell, the compiler sees each call to set_button1() as a unique and different piece of code, where the intention is exactly the opposite!:( 

How can I solve this problem? Is there another way to approach this? Can someone point me to documents that explain in detail how to deal with this problem? 

The complete code follows. 

Yours, Robert Hodkinson. 

P.S. The formatting of my code was thrown out of the window by the forums, so how to people place their code into postings and keep the formatting? (edit: this has been sorted out now).:)