Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

Where or how to program EPM7064LI44

RCross
Beginner

I am looking for information as to where I can get an EPM7064LI44 programmed or what I need to program it myself. Keep in mind, I am in no way a programmer. This is all very new to me. I am an Avionics technician trying to fix a no longer supported system that happens to have one of these programmable devices in it. As my luck goes. This chip is the faulty component. The company that originally manufactured the system has long ago went out of business. There for the pre programmed chips are no longer available.​ My only option to get this unit fixed is to find someone that can program a replacement chip for me, or acquire the capability to do it myself. This is what I am asking the gurus on here. Assistance to figure out my options and hopefully walk me through the process. Here's what I know and have; The chip is an Altera EPM7064LI44. I have the Flow chart of the programed device as well as the Firmware code. This is on hardcopy. I do not have it in a program. This is all ay over my head but I am a quick learner. Any help anyone can provide is greatly appreciated. I honestly don't even know where to begin.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
ak6dn
Valued Contributor III

This had better be a very expensive, very unique, one-of-a-kind system, or else it is going to be nowhere near cost effective to go this repair route.

The EPM7064LI44 is not a JTAG programmable device, so that leaves a very small class of equipment (old style parallel programmers) that are able to program blank devices. I have an EEtools (google them) TopMaxII USB programmer that is capable of programming EPM7xxx series parallel devices, given the appropriate socket adapter. If you had to go this route it will set you back about US$1K total for a full setup.